ERMAN TRUST (under the auspices of the Auckland Zionist Society)
Home Application forms Report back forms Links Contact us

History and purpose

The Erman Trust was established in 1994, under the auspices of the Auckland Zionist Society, with a very generous endowment left by the late Alice Erman.

The purpose of the fund is to provide financial assistance to members of the New Zealand Jewish community who wish to further their education by participating in programmes in Israel. With what they have gained they are expected to return to New Zealand and contribute in various ways to the enrichment of their local Jewish community. To date about 300 people have benefited from funding from the Trust and over $1.4 m has been distributed.

Allocation of the funds is quite specific and the terms are set down in the Trust deed. Funds are allocated for programmes in Israel only and all payments are made directly to the organisations running the programmes.

The size of grants made depends on three major factors:

  • the number of applicants each year
  • the length and the cost of the programmes they have applied for
  • interest rates and the revenue they generate on the Trust's investments

What gets funded

The Erman trust has supported a number of applications in the past, for example:

  • Hachshara leadership programmes of youth movements such as Bnei Akiva and Habonim
  • Programmes supported by AUJS (Australasian Union of Jewish Students)
  • Israel by Choice, a programme run by Masa Israel, a joint venture of the Government of Israel and the Jewish Agency for Israel
  • Journalists attending media conferences in Israel
  • A representative from the Holocaust Education Centre in Wellington to visit Yad Vashem and other sites and organisations in Israel

(Note that the Erman Trust does not supply funding for March of the Living or Birthright.)

Please also note the closing dates of 20 March, 20 June and 20 September.

The committee

The Trustees: David Kranz (Chairperson), Wally Hirsh, Rachel Korpus, Geoffrey Levy, Elaine Silverman, Roy Smollan, Liora Bercovitch. Secretary: Gail Resnick, Treasurer: Ron Eisig.

The Grants Committee: Roy Smollan (Chairperson), Wally Hirsh, Diane Levy, Sue Goldwater.

Home | Application forms | Report back forms | Links | Contact us

Copyright © 2008-2016 Erman Trust. All rights reserved.    Sitemap    Energise Web Design